Hello world!

· Uncategorized

(updated at bottom, March 10, 2016)

Welcome to my blog. I will immediately confess that I didn’t particularly want a blog, because most people expect blogs to be updated frequently, or regularly, or both, and I have too many other things on my agenda. The articles that have posting dates older than this message were imported from the Google “Knol” system, which will be discontinued.

I liked the Knol system because it didn’t really pretend to be a blog. It was simply a place where people could upload information –hopefully mostly factual– to the Internet. Whenever they got around to it; not on a schedule. Admittedly, I posted some wild speculations, but at least I labeled them as speculations.

Nevertheless, WordPress.com makes no bones about being a blog site. Sure, this blog –and a bunch of others that no doubt are being imported from the Google Knol system– are using a “theme” that is designed to somewhat emulate and expand upon the ideas that were built into the Knol system. I still suspect that most visitors to those blogs will be expecting regular or frequent updates.

Sorry (at least as far as this blog is concerned). There will be updates here. But it is anyone’s guess –including mine!– as to when each one will happen.

–Vernon Nemitz November 23, 2011

UPDATE: The default theme for this Knol-converted-to-blog doesn’t let me format articles the way I want to format them, using HTML. Therefore I’m going to be converting all the articles to “posts”, as time permits. I’m not sure what effect this will have on each article’s original posting date, but I will attempt to ensure the original dates are not lost in translation. –VN

Leave a Reply

